Home.

We will call this place our home,

The dirt in which our roots may grow.

Though the storms will push and pull,

We will call this place our home. (extracted from North by Sleeping at Last)

 VN31FKA8MT

Today as I sit at my computer wondering what to write about, I am reminded of this question on the inside “Where is the home you build for me Deidre?”

Thus says the Lord:

“Heaven is My throne,

And earth is My footstool.

Where is the house that you will build Me?

And where is the place of My rest?

For all those things My hand has made,

And all those things exist,”

Says the Lord.

“But on this one will I look:

On him who is poor and of a contrite spirit,

And who trembles at My word. (Isaiah 66:1-2)

Living in someone else’s home is an interesting experience. I have never owned my own house so I am easily adaptable to other people’s lifestyles and habits. I am also easily swept up in the pace of their lives and often swept along in the frazzle of it all. Moving back home (to South Africa) has left me more than anything longing for a home of my own…to dwell, settle and be safe. The reason for this is that I have lived alone before and found a sense of my own peace in the vortex of my own rhythm. I yearn for a place to call my own. I suppose, I long for the safety and peace of my own space. As I find myself in this situation where I am finding my feet again, paying off bills etc.…shared space is where I am for now. My best friends are amazing and have been gracious to take me in, for them I am eternally grateful. However, for the past month for some reason this sense of ‘wanting my own home has been a lingering theme in my life.

Being home in my native land and still not feeling settled is an odd feeling. Having my life this close to my loved ones and still not feel a part of it…how bizarre this is to me. It is within this aching that I find a deeper understanding of the Lord’s desire for a dwelling place. I find that my soul longs for a place to find its inhabitance. Something about this stirring has led me to this revelation of how much the Lord yearns to dwell with us.

Home is defined as: noun \ˈhōm\

  • The place (such as a house or apartment) where a person lives
  • A family living together in one building, house, etc.
  • A place where something normally or naturally lives or is located

Home is where the owner of the house dwells. It is the place where we live. The one thing that resonates with me is the verb lives / living. It is an active inhabitance. A place belonging to someone, the house has an owner. The house gives the space for the owner to find his/her rhythm and peace.

Do you not know that you are a temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in you? (1 Corinthians 3:16)

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and that you are not your own? (1 Corinthians 6:19)

This truth is being carved into my soul. The Lord longs for a place to dwell and reside. He longs for a safe haven to share his heart and his desires for my life and for those around me. The nagging questions lingers…am I cultivating a resting place for the Lord to dwell? Am I a place for him to find rest for his burdens? Have I become so self-absorbed that I have forgotten that he feels, and desires to engage my heart? I have not once given thought (as I cried about my desire for a home), that he too longs for a home now…until her builds his eternal home in the age to come. Oh how my lifestyle has become this process of asking, asking, asking…yet negating that the Lord is waiting for me to ask him about his needs. He is the closest friend I will ever have. He lives in me and dwells through me in this earth, so easily I forget. The Lord’s heart beats at His rhythm and he longs for a home where he can find that rhythm and safety.

I will not give sleep to my eyes or slumber to my eyelids, until I find a place for the Lord, a dwelling place for the Mighty One of Jacob.” (Psalm 132: 4-5)

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

