Allow me to open with a quote given to me by my lovely friend Rebecca Clemons:
‘Poets learn in suffering what they teach in song’ – Alexander Maclaren
I  love poetry, biographies, blogs and just people’s stories. I am always amazed at how God writes all these beautiful stories and how each of these tell the biography of God the Father, God the Son, God the King, God the Bridegroom and God the endless ruler and lover of our souls. The more I hear the stories the more I learn about who God is and how faithful he is… even unto death.
So for a while now I have been pondering upon what God is teaching me in this season about who he is…and more than anything the phrase ‘faithful even until death’…which reminds me of the wedding vow ‘until death us do part’. Suddenly it hit me…God the Father knew that death in my life would part me from Him for eternity and therefore he humbly became flesh (Jesus I love you!)…lived on this earth and made a covenant redeeming me from death…taking the filth of this world upon himself so that I could be with him forever and ever. Now the vow that comes to mind is ‘until death us no longer part’.
It just give me a knew perspective on death and the best way to really verbalize how I view it right now (can I just say that by no means am I super human and I will probably not feel this way in the next few days but right now this is how I view it).
This is a poem by John Donne, entitled Death be not proud:
Death, be not proud, though some have called thee
Mighty and dreadful, for thou art not so;
For those whom thou think’st thou dost overthrow
Die not, poor death, nor yet canst thou kill me.
From rest and sleep, which but thy pictures be,
Much pleasure; then from thee much more must flow,
And soonest our best men with thee do go,
Rest of their bones, and soul’s delivery.
Thou art slave to fate, chance, kings, and desperate men,
And dost with poison, war, and sickness dwell,
And poppy or charms can make us sleep as well
And better than thy stroke; why swell’st thou then?
One short sleep past, we wake eternally,
And death shall be no more, death, thou shalt die.
This piece just speaks to me in a very calm, non intimidated tone. I love how he goes through all the forms of death, yet hones in on the notion that death is unto something greater. A principle I am yet to understand fully. My heart is just captured by the notion that death in itself is a gateway to life. Death to myself in this age will result in life in the age to come. Death to the mindsets of this world is unto liberation of self. I have the been given a free gift of life and an invitation to the greatest wedding of all time, all I need to do is say yes…walk in faith and hold onto the promise of the return of Jesus. For all eternity I will live with my Savior, in His Father’s home…ruling and reigning over life.
The thing I grapple with most of my days are…do I really believe this? Then tenderly He speaks truth to my soul and reminds me that even when I am faithless…he is faithful even unto death:
Revelation 21: 6-7
He said to me: “It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life. Those who are victorious will inherit all this, and I will be their God and they will be my children.
John 11: 25
Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die.Do you believe this?”
Revelation 21: 3-4
And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”
Faithful unto death

Aside

Leave a Reply

